Developer of the Year Award

2021 NAIOP Developer of the Year 2021: Hudson Pacific Properties from NAIOP Corporate on Vimeo.

Presented annually since 1979, the Developer of the Year Award is given annually to one developer that best exemplifies leadership and innovation in the commercial real estate industry.

Congratulations to Hudson Pacific Properties, our 2021 Developer of the Year!

The Developer of the Year award is determined by a five-member selection committee of industry peers that uses the following criteria to evaluate entries:

  1. Outstanding quality of projects and services. Detail your portfolio’s innovation through the incorporation of sustainability, technology, building wellness and resiliency as they apply to development and building operations. Judges take into consideration the size and diversity of a nominee’s portfolio.
  2. Financial consistency and stability. Detail your company’s strategies for return on investment, economic sustainability and success.
  3. Ability to adapt to market conditions. Detail your company’s adaptability and success navigating economic, community impact, demographic and environmental conditions.
  4. Active support of the industry through NAIOP. Detail how your company and your employees are involved in NAIOP through the number of active NAIOP members, your chapter participation, your support of NAIOP Corporate programs, and your employees’ participation on chapter and Corporate Boards of Directors.
  5. Support of the local community. Detail your company’s charitable and philanthropic activities within your market.

Nominations for the 2022 award will open in January 2022.


Past Winners: 2020-2011

2020: Kilroy Realty Corporation
Los Angeles, California
Watch a video about Kilroy Realty
Read the press release

2019: Alexandria Real Estate Equities Inc.
Pasadena, California
Read the press release

2018: St. John Properties
Baltimore, Maryland
Watch a video about St. John Properties
Read the press release

2017: Trammell Crow Company
Dallas, Texas
Watch a video about Trammell Crow Company
Read the press release

2016: Touchstone
Seattle, Washington
Read the press release

2015: Majestic Realty Co.
Los Angeles, California
Watch a video about Majestic Realty Co.
Read the press release

2014: Brandywine Realty Trust
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Watch a video about Brandywine Realty Trust
Read the press release

2013: Vulcan Real Estate
Seattle, Washington
Watch a video about Vulcan Real Estate
Read the press release

2012: The JBG Companies
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Watch a video about The JBG Companies

Watch JBG Companies Accept 2012 Developer of the Year

2011: CenterPoint Properties
Oak Brook, Illinois

Past Winners: 2010-2000

2010: The Alter Group, Chicago, Ill.

2009: Highwoods Properties, Raleigh, N.C.

2008: Liberty Property Trust, Malvern, Pa.

2007: Ryan Companies US Inc., Minneapolis, Minn.

2006: Bentall Capital, Vancouver, British Columbia

2005: ProLogis, Denver, Colo.

2004: United Properties, Bloomington, Minn.

2003: Colonial Properties Trust, Birmingham, Ala.

2002: Lowe Enterprises, Los Angeles, Calif.

2001: Duke Realty Corporation, Indianapolis, Ind.

2000: Stiles Corporation, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Past Winners: 1999-1989

1999: Matrix Development Group, Cranbury, N.J.

1998: The Estate of James Campbell, Kapolei, Hawaii

1997: Cousins Properties Inc., Atlanta, Ga.

1996: Beacon Properties Corporation, Boston, Mass.

1995: The Irvine Company, Irvine, Calif.

1994: Miller-Valentine Group, Dayton, Ohio

1993: Charles E. Smith Companies, Arlington, Va.

1992: Opus Corporation, Minnetonka, Minn.

1991: CARTER, Atlanta, Ga.

1990: The Sudler Companies, Roseland, N.J.

Past Winners: 1989-1979

1989: Birtcher, Laguna Niguel, Calif.

1988: Trammel Crow Co., Dallas, Texas

1987: Rouse & Associates, Malvern, Pa.

1986: Taylor & Mathis Inc., Atlanta, Ga.

1985: Olympia & York, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

1984: Vantage Companies, Dallas, Texas

1983: The Koll Company, Newport Beach, Calif.

1982: Cabot, Cabot & Forbes, Boston, Mass.

1981: Gerald D. Hines Interests, Houston, Texas

1980: Southern Pacific Company, San Francisco, Calif.

1979: Bennet & Kahnweiler, Chicago, Ill.

Note: Companies that have won Developer of the Year within the previous 10 years are not eligible, nor are companies with a representative on the current NAIOP Corporate Executive Committee. Members of the Executive Committee may not nominate or endorse candidates.

CBRE Jones Lang LaSalle