Developer of the Year Award

NAIOP 2013 Developer of the Year - Vulcan Real Estate

Presented annually since 1979, the Developer of the Year Award is given annually to one developer that best exemplifies leadership and innovation in the commercial real estate market. The award is presented during Development: The Meeting for Commercial Real Estate each fall.

The Developer of the Year award is determined by a five-member selection committee of industry peers that uses the following criteria to evaluate entries:

  1. Outstanding quality of projects and services. Judges take into consideration the size, quality and sustainability of a nominee’s portfolio.
  2. Active support of the industry through NAIOP. Detail how your company and your employees are involved in NAIOP through the number of active NAIOP members, your chapter participation, your support of NAIOP Corporate programs, and your employees’ participation on chapter and Corporate Boards of Directors.
  3. Financial consistency and stability, including your company’s strategies for economic sustainability and success.
  4. Ability to adapt to market conditions, including, but not limited to, economic, demographic and environmental conditions.
  5. Support of the local community. Detail your company’s charitable and philanthropic activities within your market.

    2013 Developer of the Year: Vulcan Real Estate, Seattle, Wash.

    Read the press release


    Past Winners: 2012-2011

    2012 The JBG Companies, Chevy Chase, Md.
    See a video about The JBG Companies
    See The JBG Companies Accept 2012 Developer of the Year

    2011 CenterPoint Properties, Oak Brook, Ill.


    Past Winners: 2010-2000

    2010 The Alter Group, Chicago, Ill.

    2009 Highwoods Properties, Raleigh, N.C.

    2008 Liberty Property Trust, Malvern, Pa.

    2007 Ryan Companies US Inc., Minneapolis, Minn.

    2006 Bentall Capital, Vancouver, British Columbia

    2005 ProLogis, Denver, Colo.

    2004 United Properties, Bloomington, Minn.

    2003 Colonial Properties Trust, Birmingham, Ala.

    2002 Lowe Enterprises, Los Angeles, Calif.

    2001 Duke Realty Corporation, Indianapolis, Ind.

    2000 Stiles Corporation, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

    Past Winners: 1999-1989

    1999 Matrix Development Group, Cranbury, N.J.

    1998 The Estate of James Campbell, Kapolei, Hawaii

    1997 Cousins Properties Inc., Atlanta, Ga.

    1996 Beacon Properties Corporation, Boston, Mass.

    1995 The Irvine Company, Irvine, Calif.

    1994 Miller-Valentine Group, Dayton, Ohio

    1993 Charles E. Smith Companies, Arlington, Va.

    1992 Opus Corporation, Minnetonka, Minn.

    1991 CARTER, Atlanta, Ga.

    1990 The Sudler Companies, Roseland, N.J.

    Past Winners: 1989-1979

    1989 Birtcher, Laguna Niguel, Calif.

    1988 Trammel Crow Co., Dallas, Texas

    1987 Rouse & Associates, Malvern, Pa.

    1986 Taylor & Mathis Inc., Atlanta, Ga.

    1985 Olympia & York, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

    1984 Vantage Companies, Dallas, Texas

    1983 The Koll Company, Newport Beach, Calif.

    1982 Cabot, Cabot & Forbes, Boston, Mass.

    1981 Gerald D. Hines Interests, Houston, Texas

    1980 Southern Pacific Company, San Francisco, Calif.

    1979 Bennet & Kahnweiler, Chicago, Ill.

    Marcus Millichap Prologis